How to Look and Feel “Put Together” (Even in a rush!)

There are some girls out there who just seem to always look effortlessly put together. Their hair is perfectly styled no matter what, their makeup always looks natural yet flawless, their outfits look meticulously planned yet chic and effortless, their accessories are tasteful and glam. I envy these kind of girls, as they always seem to have it together! I really do think it’s important to make an effort in the way we look, as it has a big impact on how we feel – i.e. in my case much more confident and motivated.

Recently I feel like I’ve been so busy and barely had any time for myself. As I’ve been working early most days, I’ve been rushing out of the door in the mornings and had to get ready super quickly. It’s really made me consider how to use my time for efficiently in order to get ready and feel put-together. In today’s blog post I’ve written up some of my general tips on how to get organised and be/feel more put together and polished – even if you don’t have a lot of time.

  1. Shower at Night. There is a lot to be said for showering at night! Not only does it help you sleep better, going to bed squeaky clean is better for your skin and most importantly helps to save precious time washing and drying hair in the morning. As much as I love a refreshing shower in the morning to start the day if I have the time, they tend to feel rushed. Night showers are more enjoyable and provide the best time to unwind from a busy day and invest in some self-TLC.
  2. This tip goes hand in hand with the previous. Take care of your skin. I like to invest a lot of time in exfoliating and shaving the night before (usually as part of my shower routine) as there’s nothing that makes me feel more put together than having super smooth skin! Make sure to drink lots of water and keep up with your skincare routine. At the moment I have been loving the Garnier Moisture Bomb Tissue Mask for a bit of self-pampering! But I’ll reserve my fav facemasks and skincare products for another blog post.
  3. Get organised the night before. This one is pretty self explanatory, but probably the hardest routine (for me) to get into. Little things like making sure your living space is a stress free environment where everything is tidy to prevent you rushing in the mornings. Keep your bags tidy and pack them the night before so you don’t forget anything. If you want to be super forward thinking, try to plan outfits the night before.
  4. Exercise. Now I’m not suggesting that you hit the gym every day.. (That’s up to you!) But balancing life, fitness and work can be done with a little willpower on your end. Invest some time in getting outside, going for a walk even if it’s walking the dog! Go for a bike ride! This is much needed time to destress and stay healthy. Even the most successful people make time for exercise.
  5. Style your hair! This is one thing I struggle with when I’m in a rush!! I have long hair that I sometimes just shove up or brush-n-go without being straightened or curled properly. Try something different, experiment with different styles of ponytail, braids or a sleek bun! Try straightening or curling it. Set aside extra time for these things, and you’ll be amazed at how it transforms your look.
  6. Makeup. Make sure you have good time to do your makeup in the mornings. Think about where you’re going, what you’re wearing and the kind of makeup that would be suitable for the day ahead. If you’re in a rush, my top quick makeup tips would be:
  • Concealer! Covers all blemishes, brightens under-eyes.
  • BB Cream: Keep it simple and light, I use this one by Garnier.
  • Eyebrows: a must. Eyebrows frame the whole face, fill them in! (Not too intense if you’re going for a natural look, make sure to shape and fill in lightly)
  • Bronzer/Blusher: a little touch to give dimension and colour to the face (especially if foundation is being worn)
  • Eyes (if you have time): A neutral colour to give a base to the eyelid and mask any veins/lines. Light mascara to waken up your look.
  • Lip colour: if you’re feeling brave – go BOLD. This makes it look like you spent a lot more time and thought on your makeup than you did!!

7. Outfits that can never go wrong: Minimalistic colours and patterns. Black or white pieces never fail. Build yourself a wardrobe full of classic pieces that are easy to mix and match. Some examples such as nice jeans, a skater skirt, a black dress, denim/leather jacket, casual dresses, flannel shirts, a cashmere sweater, wedges.

8. Extra touches that pull the whole look together: Jewellery/Accessories! Spray a little touch of your favourite perfume, have a scarf and a couple of rings on. Maybe a watch, a statement necklace? Jewellery allows you to express yourself, be unique and make a statement. It also helps make you look and feel like you have your whole outfit planned to the T! Recently I have been working with the lovely girls at Cherry Soda and this month I’ve been experimenting with Qudo Collection – jewellery with a twist!

My favourite thing about the Qudo Rings is that the stones can be interchanged, you can mix and match with an endless amount of colours and styles! I thought it was better to show rather than tell, so I’ve linked my video explaining them more visually below!

*Check out my YouTube Video here*

The best part of all is that I have a lovely discount code to share with all of you – for 20% off Cherry Soda’s amazing online store, use “JEN20” and add some accessories to your collection! https://www.cherrysodajewellery.co.uk/

And that’s it, guys! My tips on how to look and feel more put together. I hope you’ve found them helpful and manage to incorporate them into your routines!! Get out there and own your style!

Jen xx

Leave a comment